This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
WAIMH Awards

WAIMH Awards 2020

WAIMH offers four important awards in recognition of individuals from across the world who have made very important contributions to the infant mental health community in the course of their careers. Interdisciplinary by design, WAIMH invites nominations from the fields of health, mental health, early care and education, early intervention, hospitals, colleges and universities, legislatures, to name just a few.

Read more about the previous winners from the links above.

There are 5 award categories:

  • WAIMH Award
  • Sonya Bemporad Award
  • Serge Lebovici Award
  • Rene Spitz Award
  • WAIMH New Investigator Award*

*Please note: This category has different requirements for nomination materials. See below.

Required nomination materials

Required nomination materials for the WAIMH Award, the Sonya Bemporad Award, the Serge Lebovici Award and the Réne Spitz Award include:
  • A 250-500 word statement indicating why the nominee should receive the award. 
  • A copy of the nominee’s resume, vita, or biographical sketch. If you are nominating a group, provide a complete description of the group and its members as well as a brief history of its relevant activities. 
  • Three letters of support from individuals who endorse your nomination. 

  • Submit all nomination materials in one packet and e-mail to the WAIMH Central Office postmarked no later than December 31, 2019. The WAIMH Awards Committee will select each of these awardees.

Required nomination materials for the WAIMH New Investigator Award include:
  • A statement indicating why he/she should receive the award
  • An unpublished manuscript of the applicant’s research
  • A curriculum vitae.

  • Submit all nominating materials in one packet to the WAIMH Central Office at no later than December 31, 2019. The Programme Committee of the 17th WAIMH World Congress will decide the next WAIMH New Investigator Awardee after reviewing the applications.